On the Trinity

I tread very carefully with this post since it I could end up in a great deal of trouble by accidentally spouting out some heresy. Maybe in another blog post, I will write about ancient church heresies (for those who want to read something written by a theologian, I recommend the Cruelty of Heresy: An Affirmation of Christian Orthodoxy by C. FitzSimons Allison).

The Holy Trinity is something that theologians have philosophized for centuries and I don’t believe there is an answer, at least not something that can be understood by man, especially a lay person. I consider it one of the mysteries of God, that there is only one God, but exists in three persons, co-eternal and consubstantial, distinct, but of the same substance.  It is just something to be accepted and part of faith.

How I think of this subject is that God exists on a different plane of existence wouldn’t be able to comprehend it, even if we tried. I believe someone tried used the analogy of a two dimensional person could never properly/fully comprehend what a cube (which exists in three dimensions).

There have been many people who use analogies to try to explain the Trinity and they tread on very dangerous ground as they may accidentally stray into heresy despite their good intentions (I.e. the three leaf clover analogy of the Trinity or the three states of water analogy). I always feed bad for one giving the sermon on Trinity Sunday, because there’s no easy way of explaining the Trinity without either straying into heresy or losing the congregation because the explanation has become too philosophical or abstract.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.