Candlemas 2020

The Feast of the Presentation of Christ in the Temple and Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary is often called Candlemas, so I took my candles to the cathedral to have them blessed.

The cathedral, being rather low church, hadn’t done candle blessing for some years now, so I priest did a private blessing of my candles.

I don’t go through that many candles, but I use it in private prayer. 18 candles should last me a full year.

The Nunc Dimittis or the Song of Simeon (Luke 2:29)
Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart in peace, according to thy word.
For mine eyes have seen thy salvation, which thou hast prepared before the face of all people;
To be a light to lighten the Gentiles, and to be the glory of thy people Israel.

Phos Hilaron (Ancient Greek hymn)
O gracious Light,
pure brightness of the everliving Father in heaven,
O Jesus Christ, holy and blessed!

Now as we come to the setting of the sun,
and our eyes behold the vesper light,
we sing your praises, O God: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

You are worthy at all times to be praised by happy voices, O Son of God, O Giver of life, and to be glorified through all the worlds.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.