The Second Anglican (Church of England) Pilgrimage

I will be in London and Oxford, United Kingdom from 22 to 25 August 2019. I plan on visiting several Church of England churches while I am there.

During the last pilgrimage, I experienced Westminster Abbey (Choral Evensong, Morning Prayer, and Said Communion) and St Paul’s Cathedral (visit only).

I wanted to experience Anglicanism of Cranmer, but the Church of England has changed significantly since 1662 and most churches uses the Book of Common Worship rather than the Book of Common Prayer. I was actually disappointed in Westminster Abbey since their use of contemporary liturgy seemed to conflict with the ancient Gothic church. However, because of the association of Royalty, Westminster Abbey has a special place in my heart.

For this pilgrimage, my plan is to add a few more churches. These are the churches to which I plan to go, but it does not include any other churches of opportunity that I may encounter during my time in London/Oxford.

Westminster Abbey, London: Choral Evensong and Sunday Said (BCP) Communion. The ancient gothic royal peculiar church associated with major royal events such as coronations and weddings.

St Paul’s Cathedral, London: Choral Evensong and Noon Communion. The high baroque cathedral of the Diocese of London.

St Martin-in-the-Fields, London: Visit only, maybe Morning Prayer. Famous church located at Trafalgar Square.

All Saints, Margaret Street, London: Morning Prayer, or Evening Prayer/Evening Mass. An Anglo-Catholic church with beautiful and ornate architecture.

Christ Church Cathedral, Oxford: Choral Evensong. The cathedral of Oxford and the chapel of Oxford University.

University Church of St Mary the Virgin, Oxford: Noon Communion. The birthplace of the Oxford Movement, where John Henry Newman was vicar when he did most of his writings. I read the church is now Liberal-Catholic, which matches my churchmanship.

One thought on “The Second Anglican (Church of England) Pilgrimage

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.