Solemn Morning Prayer for the Sunday Next before Easter commonly called Palm Sunday. ๐ŸŒฟ

Palm Sunday Morning Prayer

My little palm tree ๐ŸŒด isnโ€™t strong enough to have leaves removed from it yet, so I brought the entire tree in with me for morning prayer ๐Ÿ“–๐Ÿ›. In my hermetic social distancing life, I also wrote a plainchant for the Kyrie ๐ŸŽผ๐ŸŽถ.

We continue to pray today for all those who have been affected by the COVID-19, especially for the sick, the vulnerable, the fearful, all healthcare workers, essential workers, the unemployed, and all others who are affected by this plague. Today we continue to pray for my friend Tim, who remains hospitalized from this disease; and for his family and friends that are praying for him. May Tim and all those hospitalized for this plague be restored, according to thy gracious will, to health of body and mind, and give thanks to thee in thy holy Church; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Collect of the Day: Almighty and everlasting God, who, of thy tender love towards mankind, hast sent thy Son our Saviour Jesus Christ, to take upon him our flesh, and to suffer death upon the cross, that all mankind should follow the example of his great humility: Mercifully grant, that we may both follow the example of his patience, and also be made partakers of his resurrection; through the same Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Appointed Psalm for Palm Sunday (Psalm 23 & 24 (only Psalm 23 reproduced here)):

The Lord is my shepherd; / therefore can I lack nothing.

He shall feed me in a green pasture, / and lead me forth beside the waters of comfort.

He shall restore my soul, / and bring me forth in the paths of righteousness, for his Nameโ€™s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; / for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff comfort me.

Thou shalt prepare a table before me in the presence of them that trouble me; / thou hast anointed my head with oil, and my cup shall be full.

Surely thy loving-kindness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; / and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

Prayer in the time of any common Plague of Sickness: O Almighty God, who in thy wrath didst send a plague upon thine own people in the wilderness, for their obstinate rebellion against Moses and Aaron; and also, in the time of king David, didst slay with the plague of pestilence threescore and ten thousand, and yet remembering thy mercy didst save the rest: Have pity upon us miserable sinners, who now are visited with great sickness and mortality; that like as thou didst then accept of an atonement, and didst command the destroying Angel to cease from punishing, so it may now please thee to withdraw from us this plague and grievous sickness; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.